Thursday, 22 September 2022 (19:00–20:45 HKT)

Day 2


Welcome and introduction
Jonathan Asprer
Hong Kong


Evolving concepts of protein restriction in CKD management
Talat Alp Ikizler


Review of recent literature on ketoanalogue therapy
Frank Bepperling


Pharmacoeconomic benefits of ketoanalogue-supplemented VLPD 
Kearkiat Praditpornsilpa


Interactive in-depth discussion


Jonathan Asprer
Hong Kong



Prof Talat Alp Ikizler

  • Catherine McLaughlin Hakim Chair in Vascular Biology, Professor of Medicine and Director of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville, Tennessee, USA
  • Editorial activities include Associate Editor of Kidney International; and Editorial Board Member: Journal of Renal Nutrition, Kidney International, JASN, Clinical Journal of the American Society of Nephrology and Seminars in Dialysis
  • Numerous awards and grants received for many research projects
  • Faculty at many international and local nephrology conferences
  • Over 320 international publications and 20 book chapters
  • Involved in the professional development of nephrologists with numerous mentoring and training activities

Dr Frank Bepperling

  • VP Medical Scientific Affairs & Liaison
    Enteral Nutrition + Ketosteril, Clinical Nutrition Business Unit at Fresenius Kabi, Germany
  • Nutritionist by education
  • Completed a doctoral thesis on oral fat loading
  • Employed by Fresenius Kabi for over 34 years
  • Extensive experience in global drug development and medical-scientific environment
  • Co-author of several publications
  • Member of the European Renal Nutrition Working Group
  • Regular participant in WCN, ERA-EDTA, and ICRNM

Kearkiat Praditpornsilpa, MD, MSc

Current Position
  • Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, Department of Internal Medicine, Chulalongkorn University, King Chulalongkorn Memorial Hospital
Academic role
  • International Society of Nephrology : Clinical Research Committee Member
  • International Society of Nephrology : Oceania & South East Asia (OSEA) Regional Board Member
  • Chairman, Excellence Center of Geriatrics, King Chulalongkorn Memorial Hospital

Honors and Awards

  • Exemplary Teacher Award, Chulalongkorn Faculty Senate, Chulalongkorn University
  • Royal College of Thai Physician, Excellent Medical Award
  • Excellent Research Award, Rachadapiserk Sompoch Grant, Chulalongkorn University
  • Royal College of Thai Physician, Research Highlighted Award
  • Excellence Alumni Award, Faculty of Medicine, Ramathibodi Hospital, Mahidol University